Dash of Class – Cheese and Meats Night!

Occasionally we’ll add a dash of class to our nightly routine and indulge in a wine and cheese night! My favorite part? CHEESE! I’m a notorious cheese head, but up until lately, I’ve maintained a fairly boring Rolodex of cheese. “Chedda is betta” was my motto. All that is changing with cheese night. I’m discovering that taste changes with age. Case in point, Brie.

Image

My once cheese nemesis is now a very, very delicious friend. This go round, we opted for a delicious double crème Brie, rightfully named,  “Supreme Brie.”  Its competitors were Prince De Claverolle, a densely textured sheep’s milk cheese with herbaceous and fruity qualities and a rich, buttery finish.

Image

As well as our staple cheese – Blue, baby! As tangy as it’s name, Buttermilk Blue Wisconsin is particularly creamy and delicious. It’s quite lovely and I’m enjoying every bit; but I prefer a heavier, more densely textured blue.

 Image

Cured Meats! There’s nothing like a meat and cheese sammie, even when you’re indulging in gourmet cheese! Basic turkey pepperoni definitely does the job, but I wanted to try something new, so we also went with a dried beef. Yum! Yum! Yum!  The air-dried beef was well seasoned, but I imagine it’ll be even better drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with fresh black pepper!  I’ll keep you posted on that!

Anyone have a wine recommendation?

Leave a Reply

